Executive Team

Professor Ambuj K. Singh (President and CEO)
The founder of Acelot, Prof. Singh, has authored over 140 scientific papers in the areas of bioinformatics, data mining, databases, and graph algorithms. He holds a Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin and a Bachelor’s degree from the Indian Institute of Technology. He is currently a professor in the departments of Computer Science and Biomolecular Science & Engineering at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He works on developing the basic data and graph analysis methods that form the core IP of the company.
Christian A. Lang, Ph.D. (Chief Technology Officer)
Dr. Lang has extensive industry experience in research and productization of data mining and data management algorithms. He has successfully lead teams of researchers and software engineers, resulting in the development and delivery of innovative new features to well-known information management products such as IBM’s flagship database DB2. He has published numerous peer reviewed papers in leading database and data mining conferences and journals and holds or has applied for more than 15 U.S. patents. Dr. Lang holds a Ph.D. degree (2003) in computer science from the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Scientific Advisors

Gilbert M. Rishton, Ph.D. (Scientific Advisor, Chemistry/Pharmacology)
Dr. Rishton is the Founder and Director of the Alzheimer’s Institute at CSUCI. He has led drug discovery programs in pharma for over 15 years. During his years at Amgen, he was the founding medicinal chemist at the Thousand Oaks site. Dr. Rishton was responsible for much of the program initiation and group building for the Amgen Small Molecule Drug Discovery Group, which has grown to become one of the most formidable in the pharmaceutical industry. He has managed drug discovery programs in inflammation, oncology, and central nervous system disease.
Stuart C. Feinstein, Ph.D. (Scientific Advisor, Biology)
Dr. Feinstein is Co-Director of the Neuroscience Research Institute and a professor in the Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology at the University of California, Santa Barbara. His primary area of research focuses upon the molecular basis of neurodegenerative diseases, with an emphasis upon Alzheimer’s and related dementias. Dr. Feinstein earned his undergraduate degree in biochemistry at the University of California, Berkeley and his Ph.D. in biochemistry and biophysics at the University of California School of Medicine in San Francisco. Subsequently, he was a postdoctoral fellow in neurobiology at the Stanford University School of Medicine. He joined the UCSB faculty in 1986.
Satish Medicetty, Ph.D. (Scientific Advisor)
Dr. Medicetty is the Director of GTCbio and a Board Director at Renovo Neural Inc. His previous experience includes research and development of cell-based and small molecule technologies for treatment of neurological diseases. He is well-versed with the biology and underlying mechanisms of several neurological diseases including Multiple Sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease and Alzheimer’s disease. In addition, Dr. Medicetty served as President and Chief Executive Officer at Renovo Neural Inc.

Advisory Board

Robin Campbell, Ph.D.
Robin’s professional career spans more than 25 years and includes both U.S. and international experience in pharmaceutical and biotechnology sales, marketing, product development and general management. From 2004 to 2008, Robin was President and CEO of Naryx Pharma, a venture-backed specialty pharmaceutical company developing novel, topically delivered treatments for chronic sinusitis and other conditions treatable by intranasal drug delivery. Prior to joining Naryx Pharma, Robin was at Amgen Inc., where his last position was Vice President and General Manager of the Oncology Business Unit. In this role, Robin led an integrated team responsible for the marketing, sales and medical development of products generating over $1 billion in revenue.
Michael T. Bowers, Ph.D.
Dr. Bowers obtained his B.S. from Gonzaga University and his Ph.D. in 1966 from the University of Illinois. After two years at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory he joined the UC Santa Barbara faculty in 1968. His Awards include: the Nobel Laureate Signature Award of the American Chemical Society (1988), the Field and Franklin Award of the American Chemical Society (1996), the Thomson Gold Medal of International Mass Spectrometry Society (1997), a Guggenheim Fellowship (1995), and UCSB Faculty Research Lecturer (1994).
Sylvain E. Lesne, Ph.D.
Dr. Sylvain Lesne is an Associate Professor in the Department of Neuroscience at the University of Minnesota. He received his PhD in 2002. His group focuses on the pathogenic role of amyloid plaques and associated neuronal dystrophy, especially the non-fibrillar amyloid-beta (Aβ) assemblies, also called Aβ oligomers, that may represent the bioactive molecules involved in the physiopathology of Alzheimer’s disease-related neuronal dysfunction and memory impairment. The Lesne laboratory is examining whether and how Aβ oligomers can interact at neuronal plasma membranes with specific receptors involved in the cellular form of memory by combining biochemical and functional assays.